ua en ru

Spain, Norway, and Ireland officially recognize Palestine as state

Spain, Norway, and Ireland officially recognize Palestine as state Illustrative photo (Getty Images)
Author: Daryna Vialko

Spain, Norway, and Ireland have made decisions to officially recognize the Palestinian state as part of coordinated efforts by three Western European countries, according to Associated Press.

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez said in an address that “this is a historic decision that has a single goal, and that is to help Israelis and Palestinians achieve peace.”

After Spain, Ireland, and Norway officially formalized their decisions. The Palestinian flag was raised in Dublin near Leinster House, where the Irish parliament convenes.

“This is an important moment and I think it sends a signal to the world that there are practical actions you can take as a country to help keep the hope and destination of a two-state solution alive at a time when others are trying to sadly bomb it into oblivion,” stated the Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris.

Norwegian Foreign Minister Espen Barth Eide noted in his statement that “for more than 30 years, Norway has been one of the strongest advocates for a Palestinian state. Today, when Norway officially recognizes Palestine as a state, is a milestone in the relationship between Norway and Palestine.”


Palestine is a region in the Middle East, its territory is divided into two parts: the West Bank and Gaza. The West Bank is a hilly area located west of the Jordan River. The Gaza Strip is a coastal land strip located south of the West Bank.

Palestine is an independent and partially recognized state. Its independence has been recognized by 138 out of 193 UN member states.

It was previously reported that the governments of Norway, Spain, and Ireland decided to recognize Palestine as a state.