ua en ru

Ukraine and 7 countries join EU sanctions against Belarus

Ukraine and 7 countries join EU sanctions against Belarus Illustrative photo (Photo: Getty Images)
Author: Daria Shekina

Today, eight countries, including Ukraine, have joined the latest package of European Union sanctions against Belarus, according to the European Council.

"The Council added 38 individuals and 3 entities to the list of natural and legal persons, entities and bodies subject to restrictive measures," the statement reads.

It is noted that this pertains to the EU sanctions package against Belarus, which was introduced on August 3rd of this year.

Candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, are joining this Council decision.

"They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision," added the EU Council.

Sanctions against Belarus

Earlier, Politico reported that EU sanctions against Belarus would pertain to dual-use goods and aviation parts. According to EU diplomats, the new sanctions package includes 38 individuals and three legal entities.

Already on August 3rd, the EU Council imposed new restrictive measures against Belarus in connection with Russia's unlawful invasion of Ukraine and in response to Minsk's involvement in the aggression.

These new measures aim to coordinate EU sanctions on Russia and Belarus more closely and help prevent Russian sanctions from being bypassed through Belarus.

These measures extend the export ban of certain sensitive goods and technologies to Belarus, which contribute to Belarus' military-technical progress.