ua en ru

USA, South Korea, Japan Summit - Countries express support for Ukraine

USA, South Korea, Japan Summit - Countries express support for Ukraine The USA, Japan, and South Korea expressed their support for Ukraine (photo: Getty Images)

The USA, Japan, and South Korea will continue their support for Ukraine and are planning to implement new sanctions against Russia, according to a joint statement by the leaders of the three countries following the summit in Washington, according to the White House website.

They stated that the summit took place at a "historic juncture" when "geopolitical competition, the climate crisis, Russia’s war of aggression against Ukraine, and nuclear provocations test us."

"This is a moment that requires unity and coordinated action from true partners, and it is a moment we intend to meet, together," the summit's concluding communique stated.

The leaders of the countries also emphasized unity in supporting Ukraine in the war that has shaken the foundations of the international order. They pledged to continue providing assistance to Ukraine, implementing "coordinated and robust" sanctions against Russia, and accelerating the reduction of dependence on Russian energy resources.

"We believe the lasting lesson from this catastrophic war of aggression must be the international community’s abiding will to uphold the principles of territorial integrity, sovereignty, and the peaceful resolution of disputes," the statement says.

The Summit of the USA, Japan, and South Korea

Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida, U.S. President Joe Biden, and South Korean leader Yoon Suk Yeol met for the first time in a trilateral summit format on August 18 in Washington. The meeting was intended to discuss threats from China and North Korea in the Indo-Pacific region, as well as the overall security situation in East Asia.

The countries also issued a joint statement regarding a peaceful resolution to the conflict in the Taiwan Strait and announced annual meetings at a similar summit.