ua en ru

Nobel Prize 2023 in Physics - Winners announced

Nobel Prize 2023 in Physics - Winners announced The winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 have been announced (Photo: Getty Images)

The Nobel Committee announced the laureates of the Physics Prize on October 3. The recipients are scientists Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier, the Nobel Foundation's press service reported.

Facts about Nobel laureates in physics

Physics was a field of recognition that Alfred Nobel (whose name is associated with the establishment of the Nobel Prize) prominently mentioned in his 1895 will.

In the late 19th century, many regarded physics as the most advanced science, and Nobel may have shared this view as his research was closely linked to physics.

The first Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Wilhelm Röntgen for his extraordinary contributions to science, particularly the discovery of X-rays, named in his honor.

Last year, in 2022, the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to three scientists: Alain Aspect, John Clauser, and Anton Zeilinger. They were recognized for experiments with entangled photons, establishing violations of Bell inequalities, and pioneering quantum information science.

Nobel week 2023

Nobel Week commenced in Stockholm (Sweden) and Oslo (Norway) yesterday, during which the 2023 Nobel Prize laureates will be determined.

The Nobel Prize is among the most prestigious international awards presented annually for outstanding scientific research, revolutionary inventions, and significant cultural and societal development contributions.

This year, laureates for the Nobel Prize will be announced from October 2 to October 9, specifically:

  • October 2: Physiology or Medicine
  • October 3: Physics
  • October 4: Chemistry
  • October 5: Literature
  • October 6: Peace
  • October 9: The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

Laureates in physiology and medicine determined

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was the first to be awarded and announced yesterday. Scientists Katalin Karikó from Hungary and Drew Weissman from the United States were honored for discoveries that allowed the development of COVID-19 vaccines (Moderna and BioNTech/Pfizer). More details on this - in RBC-Ukraine's material.