ua en ru

Ukraine and eight other countries join EU's extension of sanctions against Russia

Ukraine and eight other countries join EU's extension of sanctions against Russia Photo: Josep Borrell, Head of EU Diplomacy (Vitalii Nosach, RBC-Ukraine)

Ukraine and eight other countries have supported the decision of the Council of the European Union to extend personal sanctions against Russia for six months for a full-scale invasion, according to the head of European Union diplomacy, Josep Borrell.

Borrell reminded that on March 12, the EU Council extended the sanctions for six months until September 15, 2024, adding 97 individuals and nine legal entities to the list.

"The candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Ukraine, Republic of Moldova and Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this Council Decision," added Borrell.

According to the head of EU diplomacy, the above-mentioned countries will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

What preceded

On March 12, the EU Council adopted a decision stating that personal sanctions against Russia would remain in effect until at least September 15. These sanctions apply to more than 2100 individuals and legal entities, imposed in response to Russia's unjustified and unprovoked military aggression against Ukraine.

At the same time, the EU Council decided not to extend restrictions against three individuals and to remove nine deceased individuals from the list.

In particular, the European Union countries agreed to remove Arkady Volozh, the co-founder of the search engine Yandex, from the sanctions list.