ua en ru

Zelenskyy signs sanctions against 147 Russians and citizens of other states

Zelenskyy signs sanctions against 147 Russians and citizens of other states Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy (Getty Images)

President Volodymyr Zelenskyy has enacted the decision of the National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine "On the Application of Personal Special Economic and Other Restrictive Measures" regarding sanctions against 147 individuals from the Russian Federation and other states associated with Russia, according to decrees №772/2023 and №773/2023.

The first sanctions list includes 60 individuals, consisting of citizens from Russia, Ukraine, Cyprus, Belarus, Germany, Uzbekistan, Austria, and the United Kingdom. The list includes:

  • Former Secretary of the National Security and Defense Council Volodymyr Sivkovich, who is hiding in Russia

  • Leonid Kharchenko, accused in the crash of Malaysian Airlines flight MH17

  • Daria Morozova, the so-called human rights ombudsman of the occupation administration in the Donetsk region

  • Top managers of USM group companies owned by Russian oligarch Alisher Usmanov: Nazim Efendiev, Vakhtang Kocharyan, and Valery Kazikaev

  • Natalia Davidova, the wife of former USM chairman Ivan Streshinsky

  • Natan Viner, the son of Usmanov's wife Irina Viner

Sanctions against them are imposed for a period of 10 years. The measures include the freezing of assets, revocation of licenses, restrictions on transit and trade operations within Ukraine, and prohibition on privatization and public procurement.

In the second sanctions list, 87 individuals from the Russian Federation have been targeted. Among them are:

  • Former Kremlin administration official Anatoly Chubais

  • Commander of the air defense and missile defense forces, Deputy Commander-in-Chief of the Russian Aerospace Forces Andrey Dyomin

  • Chairman of the Accounts Chamber and former Minister of Finance of the Russian Federation Alexey Kudrin

  • Father, wife, and son of Ukrainian collaborator Yevhen Balitsky

  • Chief Sanitary Doctor of Moscow Elena Andreyeva

  • CEO of the Nizhny Novgorod firm RemEksStroy Alexander Dorofeev

  • CEO of Galaktika LLC Alexander German.

Sanctions against 34 of them are imposed for 10 years, 50 for five years, and three for three years. The measures include asset freezing, revocation of state awards, license cancellation, prohibition on transit and trade operations within Ukraine, capital withdrawal abroad, prohibition on privatization, and land purchase.

Sanctions against Russia

Ukraine has implemented various levels of sanctions against Russia and Kremlin-associated oligarchs. Since the beginning of the invasion in 2022, the National Bank of Ukraine has banned the circulation of the ruble and closed Russian state banks. Ukrainian courts consistently confiscate Russian assets.

In May, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy proposed imposing sanctions against Iran for 50 years. The law has been adopted by the Parliament and is now in effect. The restrictions include a complete ban on trade transactions, halting the transit of resources, flights, and transportation to Ukrainian territory, and preventing capital outflows by Iranian residents.

On November 18, Ukraine implemented a series of sanctions against individuals and entities supporting Russia.