ua en ru

Switzerland joins EU's 12th sanctions package against Russia

Switzerland joins EU's 12th sanctions package against Russia Illustrative photo (Photo: Getty Images)
Author: Daria Shekina

Switzerland has joined the 12th package of sanctions imposed by the European Union against the Russian Federation, according to the Swiss Federal Council.

On December 21, the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research expanded its sanctions lists against Russia further.

This move brings Switzerland in line with additional sanction lists adopted by the EU in response to Russia's ongoing military aggression against Ukraine.

The changes took effect at 6 PM the previous day. The Swiss Federal Council was informed of the latest developments on December 22.

Those affected by Switzerland's sanctions

Switzerland imposed restrictive measures against 61 individuals and 86 legal entities.

Among the newly sanctioned individuals are Belarusian Armed Forces personnel, executives of companies supporting Russia's military and industrial potential, and members of the Central Election Commission of the Russian Federation. The new entities subject to sanctions primarily comprise Russian companies operating in the defense sector.

"The EU's 12th package of sanctions from 18 December also provides for various other measures, including a phased ban on imports of diamonds from or originating in Russia. Imports of diamonds of Russian origin to Switzerland have in any case fallen sharply since the onset of Russia's military aggression against Ukraine. At this stage, there are no longer any direct imports of natural or synthetic diamonds from Russia to Switzerland," stated the Federal Council.

EU sanctions against Russia

Previously, the European Union activated a new, 12th package of sanctions against the Russian Federation. As stated by the head of European diplomacy, Josep Borrell, the bloc proposed a "robust set of new listings and economic measures which will further weaken Russia's war machine."

The sanction package includes restrictive measures on the import or transit of Russian diamonds, the introduction of import-export controls and limitations, price limitations on oil, iron, and steel, and the addition of a significant number of additional individuals and legal entities to the sanctions list.